Fresno Driving on a Suspended License Attorney Experienced Legal Help When You Need It Most

Motorists across the United States may either lose their driver’s license or have their license suspended for certain traffic violations, criminal offenses, and other reasons. California drivers are no exception to the rules. Under California law, your driving privileges can be revoked or suspended for a variety of reasons, ranging from drunk driving to reckless driving. If you choose to continue operating your vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked, you face additional criminal charges.image

The Srai Law Office provides aggressive legal representation if you are facing criminal charges for driving with a revoked or suspended license. Contact attorney Gurjit Srai for expert legal advice and resourceful legal services that can effectively help you avoid the negative and harsh consequences of a driving on a suspended or revoked license.

Common Reasons for Suspension or Revocation of a California Driver’s License

There a variety of different ways that your driving privileges may be revoked in California. Some common ways are described below: ­

  • Driving under the influence. The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has the authority to suspend or revoke your driving privileges if you are convicted of drunk driving or driving under the influence of other control substances. The suspension period may vary between six months and two years. ­
  • Accumulation of Points on Your Driving Record. Certain driving offenses, such as speeding, failing to properly restraint a child passenger or driving with a suspended license, can carry points in California. If you accumulate four points in a 12‐month period, six points in a 24‐month period, or eight points in a 36‐month, the DMV can suspend your driver’s license. ­
  • Reckless Driving. If you are convicted of reckless driving, your driving privileges can be for suspended between 30 days and up to six months, depending on whether it is your first conviction or a subsequent conviction.

Regardless of the reason for the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, it is best not violate the terms by continuing to drive. However, if you do and you face criminal charges, it is best to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney who specifically handles such cases.

Consequences of Driving After a Suspension or Revocation Charges

Driving with a revoked or suspend license is a misdemeanor under California Vehicle Code § 14601(b). Your severity and length of your sentence can depend on whether you were previously convicted for driving after suspension or revocation.

Below is a brief outline of the consequences of a conviction of this charge: ­

  • 1st offense can carry a minimum sentence of five days in jail and a $300 monetary fine. The maximum sentence is six months in jail and a $1,000 monetary fine. ­
  • Subsequent offenses with in a five‐year period can carry a minimum sentence of 10 days in jail and $500 fine. The maximum sentence is one year in jail and a monetary fine of $2,000.

If your driver’s license was suspended due to a drunk driving charge, the penalties may be even higher. (Cal. Veh. Code § 14601.2). In addition, you may face even stricter consequences if the state deems you to be a habitual traffic offender. (Cal. Veh. Code § 14601.3).

Contact an Experienced Suspended Drivers License Defense Attorney

The Fresno suspended drivers license defense attorneys at the Srai Law Office provide experienced, quality legal assistance to individuals charged with a driving after suspension or revocation of driving privileges. Everyone deserves the best defense possible, and attorney Gurjit Srai is prepared to fight for you.

For more information or to schedule a complimentary consultation with one of our driving after suspension or revocation charges defense attorneys, please call us at 209-323-5558, or complete our online form.

Please Share This: