If you have been arrested for drunk driving in California, you will have to defend charges brought against you in criminal court and by the DMV in an effort to suspend your driving privileges. If you are convicted on the criminal charges, the severity of the resulting conviction will depend on various factors, such as whether you have a previous DUI offense on your record.
A drunk driving arrest will no doubt leave you with many questions and concerns. Although it is best to immediately consult with and hire an experienced attorney, below are general answers to some frequently asked questions:
- Will I be able to get my care released if it was impounded by the police?
If you have been arrested for a standard DUI, you should not encounter any issues in getting your car released once you have paid the release fees and provided proof of ownership.
However, if the drunk driving arrest also involved some other type of serious offense, such as a possession of drugs or any wrongdoing, law enforcement may direct the tow yard not to release your vehicle in order to keep it as evidence until all investigation into the alleged crime is done.
- How long will it take for me to be released from jail?
In most cases, people are released from jail within a several hours after a drunk driving arrest. Bail is generally not required, especially if this is your first DUI offense.
- Will my driver’s license be suspended?
Generally speaking, your driver’s license will remain valid for 30 days following a DUI arrest, even if it is confiscated by the police. You will be issued a temporary license after release from jail, which will act as your license until your court hearing to contest or fight the suspension.
- Will I get different treatment if it is my first DUI arrest?
First time DUI offenders generally face the following consequences upon conviction:
- 3 years of informal probation
- Approximately $2,000 in fines
- First offender, 30-hour alcohol program
You will not face required jail time, although the existence of certain aggravating factors can result in jail time. Some counties of California also require, as part of your DUI sentence, to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for a minimum of four months. This may result in an additional $500. You may also be required to fulfill certain community service work, participate in victim impact panels, and do some other type of community labor. However, with the help of an experienced Central Valley DUI defense attorney, these consequences may be subject to negotiation.
Call an Experienced Central Valley DUI Defense Attorney
If you or someone you know has been arrested for a DUI, it is in your best interest to immediately consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney to help you learn your legal rights and options.
For more information or to schedule a complimentary consultation with Central Valley drunk driving defense attorney Gurjit Srai, please call 209-323-5558 or complete our online form.